In the debate over the future of Test cricket, West Indies face an impossible task

In the debate over the future of Test cricket, West Indies face an impossible task

This appears to be the perfect mismatch on paper. a potent and accomplished Australian team taking on a West Indies team that will include at least three rookies and just five players with prior national team experience. That is probably how it will end up as well, but that doesn’t mean there won’t be any interesting moments along the way.

With David Warner’s retirement, a new era has begun for Australia. The process of replacing him took an unexpected turn when Steven Smith, the last person on the list, was selected for the position. It has generated a lot of discussion because he has never opened in first-class cricket, but it wouldn’t come as a huge surprise if he succeeds.

A byproduct is that Cameron Green is able to return to the fold at No. 4, but otherwise it’s a case of same again for the home side. The fast bowlers are all good to keep going, helped by the fact that the Pakistan Tests finished in four days although Australia were pushed harder than some expected.

So to West Indies. For a myriad of reasons this is a vastly different squad to the one that toured Australia a little more than a year ago – one of the game’s many scheduling quirks meaning they are back for consecutive summers. 

West Indies Test Squad

The fifteen-member team that will play a two-Test series in Australia from January 17–29, 2024, as part of the ICC World Test Championship (WTC), was revealed today by the Cricket West Indies (CWI) Senior Men’s Selection Panel.


1. Kraigg Brathwaite (Captain)
2. Alzarri Joseph (Vice-Captain)
3. Tagenarine Chanderpaul
4. Kirk McKenzie
5. Alick Athanaze
6. Kavem Hodge
7. Justin Greaves
8. Joshua DaSilva
9. Akeem Jordan
10. Gudakesh Motie
11. Kemar Roach
12. Kevin Sinclair 
13. Tevin Imlach
14. Shamar Joseph
15. Zachary McCaskie

  • Head Coach – Andre Coley
  • Assistant Coach – Rayon Griffith
  • Assistant Coach – Shaun Tait
  • Assistant Coach – James Adams
  • Team Analyst – Avenesh Seeteram
  • Physiotherapist – Dr. Denis Byam
  • Strength & Conditioning Coach – Ronald Rogers
  • Massage Therapist – Dane Currency
  • Team Manager – Rawl Lewis
  • Media Officer – Dario Barthley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Lost Password