Kohli and Rohit make a comeback for the T20I series against Afghanistan

Kohli and Rohit make a comeback for the T20I series against Afghanistan

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have made a comeback to India’s T20I team after an absence of over a year. They are set to participate in the three-match series against Afghanistan, marking their return ahead of the T20 World Cup in June.Rohit has been appointed as the captain of the team due to injuries to Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav, who led the team in his absence.Prior to this series, Rohit and Kohli focused on Test cricket and ODIs, opting out of T20Is since India’s loss in the T20 World Cup semi-final to England in November 2022. Both players are now being considered for the upcoming T20 World Cup in the West Indies and USA.

Since the 2022 T20 World Cup, Hardik led India in T20Is, and Surya Kumar took charge after Hardik’s injury in the 2023 ODI World Cup. Surya Kumar led the team in T20Is against Australia and South Africa but is currently sidelined with an ankle injury.

Ruturaj Gaikwad is not included in the squad due to a lingering finger injury from the recent South Africa tour. KL Rahul is also absent, and Ishan Kishan opted out to focus on improving his game.

Jitesh Sharma, who featured in the T20I series against Australia and South Africa, retains his spot, while Sanju Samson returns as his backup after being absent since August of the previous year.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Ravindra Jadeja, and Shreyas Iyer are unavailable due to workload management, injuries, or personal reasons. Deepak Chahar, initially selected for the South Africa T20Is, could not participate due to a family matter. Instead, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, and Mukesh Kumar retain their spots.

The spin attack comprises Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, and Ravi Bishnoi, with Kuldeep showcasing his form with five wickets in the last T20I in South Africa and a notable performance in the Ranji Trophy.

The complete T20I squad

includes Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, and Mukesh Kumar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Lost Password