Selectors face a dilemma for the Afghanistan series due to injuries

Selectors face a dilemma for the Afghanistan series due to injuries

It is now clear that the selected Twenty20 captaincy candidates, Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav, will not be available for the forthcoming Twenty20 International series against Afghanistan, which begins next week. Ajit Agarkar and his selection committee are facing a dilemma as a result of their absence. Selectors face a dilemma for the Afghanistan series due to injuries.

Their problem is that they have to decide between taking a chance on someone like Shubman Gill or going with the tried and true Rohit Sharma. Ravindra Jadeja and Shreyas Iyer are two more strong candidates in front of the selectors, but that isn’t the main problem at hand.

Insiders say that the decision won’t be simple. When asked about their opinions on playing Twenty20 Internationals, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli reportedly said that they were prepared to make their T20I comeback after a break of more than a year. On November 10, 2022, they played their final Twenty20 International match against England in Australia’s T20 World Cup semifinals.

Even though the selection committee is more focused on developing young talent and making plans for the future, they are also cognizant of Rohit’s outstanding leadership and batting ability in the recent past. Rohit makes a claim that is difficult to ignore.

India vs Afghanistan, T20I squad selection

Live updates on the T20I squad selection for India (IND) vs Afghanistan (AFG): On Friday, January 5, the BCCI senior men’s team selection committee is anticipate to reveal the team for a three-match series against Afghanistan. With rumors of a comeback from Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, all eyes are on the selection news. India’s final T20I international assignment before the World Cup in June is this three-match series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Lost Password